30 September 2016: Mahalaya

The Mother Goddess is re-born and the Gods give her their choicest and favourite weapons to battle evil.

1 October 2016: Pratipada

2 October 2016: Chandra darshan

3 October 2016: Dwitiya

4 October 2016: Tritiya

Took the early morning flight to Kolkata.

5 October 2016: Chaturthi

6 October 2016: Panchami

After all the anticipation, this year’s Durga pujo finally gets underway. And I start it with a picture of the Mother’s idol from the pujo in the neighbourhood of my ancestral home.

_8002785-1.jpg
Ma Durga’s idol at my para’r (organised by Simla Sporting Club) pujo.

 

7 October 2016: Shashti

 

8 October 2016: Saptami

I woke up at 4:00 AM to the sound of the dhak as devotees took the “kola bou” (In the Bengal region, Ganesh is linked with the banana tree) for a bath in the River Hooghly (a tributary of the Holy Ganges).

After consuming a mug of a strong brew of coffee I set off for some pandal hopping around my neighbourhood – my usual morning ritual if I am in Kolkata during a pujo.

Shimla Byam Samiti which traditionally used to have tall idols of the mother, had smaller idols this time. A bit of a disappointment but goes to show the increasing costs and decreasing funds over the years.

The pujo at Ramtanu Bose lane had traditional looking idols. Especially pleasing was the way the mother’s eyes were painted – they appear to look at each and every devotee who came to see and worship her.

_8002818-1
An idol of the Mother in the old, classical style, Ram Tanu Bose Lane.

And then I hopped by the pujo at my maternal place; one of the pujos that I cannot skip under any circumstances.

On the way back home, I hopped by one more pujo across the street, with a final stop over at the pandal in my neighbourhood.

And then, a sumptuous lunch of traditional Bengali cuisine at a friend’s home.

9 October 2016: Ashtami

Did nothing except to partake in the “anjali” followed by a simple breakfast at my maternal place to break the fast.

_8002889-1
Durga’r protima, Madan Mitra Lane.
_8002808-Edit-1.jpg
Durga pujo, Shimala Byam Samiti.

10 October 2016: Nabami

A morning trip to Adya Pith in North Kolkata to see the original idol of Adya ma and seek the Goddess’ blessings. Also got to witness the morning anjali and view the Durga idol inside the temple complex.

img_3659
Durga pujo inside the Adya Pith temple complex.

11 October 2016: Dashami

Bagbazar Sarbojanin Durga pujo, never a disappointment as they live up to their reputation yet again this year. A colour and a B&W version of the Mother with her two daughters.

 

And the traditional “sindhur khela” on the last day of the festivities.

_8002951-edit-1
The traditional ritual of sindhur khela under the watchful eyes of the Mother, Bagbazar Sarbojanin Durga Pujo.

 

As the 2016 Durga Pujo comes to an end, I wish all readers a Shubho Bijoya!

Asche bochor abar hobe!